The Dehcho region is one of eight educational regions in the Northwest Territories of Canada. It has eight communities with the regional office situated in Fort Simpson. The Dehcho Divisional Education Council (DDEC) oversees the operations of nine schools. DDEC fully embraces Education Renewal in partnership with Education, Culture, and Employment (ECE).

Educational jurisdictions throughout the world are in a period of profound transformation. ECE, in partnership with educational bodies throughout the world, is leading a comprehensive effort to renew education in the Northwest Territories (NWT). This renewal is grounded in eight foundational concepts: meaningful relationships as the foundation of all learning, education as an ecosystem, supporting a positive sense of identity, supporting diverse needs, constructing knowledge together, valuing diversity, supporting all learners, and developing competencies. The impetus behind Education Renewal is to determine how we can improve the NWT education system for all learners so that they can meet the challenges of the 21st century as capable northern citizens.